Executive Committee









Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the Steering Committee and the Regional Research Chairs (see roles below). The Executive Committee is responsible for:

  • Reviewing submitted research proposals
  • Providing research proposal feedback to the submitters
  • Determining proposal acceptance
  • Attendance to the annual one day CORNET planning meeting following the PAS meeting

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee oversees the overall research mission of the network in addition to working with the Executive Committee and regional practices on discussion pertaining to:

  • Network infrastructure
  • Overall policy and direction of the network
  • Selection and oversight of research studies consistent with the network mission
  • Oversight of the development and methodology of selected research studies
  • Aid for the principal investigators in study development and research funding
  • Practice participation in individual studies
  • Oversight of research study completion ie dissemination of results and abstract/ manuscript publication
  • Review the rules of governance and revise as needed

Steering Committee Members:

Janet Serwint, MD
Founding Director
jserwint@jhmi.edu
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Iman Sharif, MD, MPH
Network Director
Iman.Sharif@nemours.org
Nemours/Alfred I. DuPont Hospital for Children
Thomas Jefferson University/ Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Marilyn Dumont-Driscoll, PhD, MD
Chair of Membership
dumonmd@peds.ufl.edu
University of Florida College of Medicine

Susan Feigelman, MD
Evaluator of Clinical Research
sfeigelman@peds.umaryland.edu
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Paul Darden, MD
Evaluator of Clinical Research
Paul-Darden@ouhsc.edu
Oklahoma University

William Stratbucker, MD, MS
Evaluator of Educational Research
william.stratbucker@helendevoschildrens.org
Michigan State University/Helen DeVos
Children's Hospital



Karen Wilson, MD, MPH
APA Research Committee Chair
karen.wilson@childrenscolorado.org
Children's Hospital Colorado

Regional Research Chairs

There are 10 geographically designated Regions within the Academic Pediatric Association.

Regional Research Chairs are selected from each region by either self or peer recommendation. They serve as the liaison between their designated CORNET Region member sites and the Executive Committee.

Regional Research Chairs:

Region I: Ron Samuels, MD, MPH
Children's Hospital of Boston
ronald.samuels@childrens.harvard.edu
Region VI: Sue Heaney, MD
St. Louis University
heaney@slu.edu

Region II: Allison Gorman, MD
Weill Cornell Medical Center
agg9003@med.cornell.edu

Region VII: Teresa Duryea, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
teresad@bcm.edu

Region III: Lynn Garfunkel, MD
University of Rochester
Lynn.Garfunkel@rochesterregional.org

Region VIII: Sharon Dabrow, MD
University of South Florida
sdabrow@health.usf.edu

Region IV: Michael Steiner, MD
North Carolina Children's Hospital/University of North Carolina
msteiner@med.unc.edu

Region IX: Wendy Hobson-Rohrer, MD, MSPH
University of Utah
Wendy.hobson@hsc.utah.edu

Region V: Heather Burrows, MD
University of Michigan
armadill@med.umich.edu

Region X: VACANT

 

APA WIKI

Renew Membership

Join APA

Donate

APA Journal

MailingList

ResidentFellow